Day One, or One Day?

stottpilates_matwork

What is Pilates?

Pilates is a system of exercises involving using special equipment as well as your body strength. It’s designed to improve physical strength, flexibility, the posture, and enhance your mental awareness. Pilates was developed in the early 20th century by a man named Joseph Pilates. He first named his method “Contrology” as doing pilates involves controlled movements which should feel like a workout. Pilates focuses a lot on the core, (which is often called the power house) and it consists of the abdomen, lower back, and hips. Joseph Pilates believes the power house is the key to a persons stability, and that the mind and body are interconnected to each other.

I started doing pilates in spring of 2015, I was a part time student, but working full time and I did not drive. I had no previous background with sports or any type of exercising, but I knew I wanted to improve my body and lifestyle. I needed something that I could do when I had time at my house. I looked for home workout videos on youtube and there I discovered Blogilates. Blogilates is a pilates channel ran by a woman named Cassey Ho. Her channel focuses on exercises as well as healthy meals and tips. It had everything I was looking for, and what I love the most about it is that she makes free monthly workout calendars for anyone to download and the workouts are all pre planned.

Incorporating pilates into my lifestyle I feel really has changed not only my physical appearance, but my mental health as well. I highly recommend everyone to give it a chance at least once and see how they feel.

Here is a link to a beginners monthly workout calendar if anyone is curious to try.

Or if you want a little more information here is a link that explains pilates a little more.